Josh Healy PPJ Winter Week 3

This week unfortunately wasn’t nearly as productive as I hoped it would be, with other projects (and maybe some time management issues). The main thing I wanted to get done this week was finally fixing the projectiles. If you remember my old PPJs, you’ll remember this isn’t the first time I’ve had this issue. While as far as I can tell there’s nothing wrong with the blueprint, collision detection is completely inconsistent in the game. Sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn’t, and it never responds to the capsule collider correctly. I mentioned this to Ruben, and it turns out he’s been having a similar issue with the Dragon’s projectile when trying to destroy the monolith. Hopefully this is just something we haven’t figured out, and not an Unreal bug. This week was spent mostly working on this bug, looking online for answers, and posting the occasional forum post trying to get my own. Not to repeat myself, but this week I think I may have found a solution, but haven’t had a chance to test it in the current build.

receive-hit

Pros:

  • I think I’m better on track with the fighting
  • On track for the beta

Cons:

  • If this doesn’t work I have no idea
Leave a Reply

