Ricardo Yanofsky PPJ Winter Week 09

Another week, another mocap session. This time was different though, because Rob was out of town most of the week, so I had to do everything myself. The session itself was not too bad, though I do prefer it when two people are in charge, since it is hard to keep up with the spreadsheet, directing the actors and working the system all at once. This time Kevin was our actor, since we did not need armor as much as walk/run cycles. A good deal of what we shot is for features that may be cut, or animations that will be done by hand. I would like to use as much mocap as possible, even if it means I have to alter it heavily. Cleaning the data myself was pretty time consuming, since we usually split it between two people, but I was able to get it done reasonably early in the week.

The only game ready animation I finished this week was the melee combo. The last session’s data was not great performance-wise, and Kevin’s martial arts background produced a much better animation. I spent a good amount of time adding the most of data to the character, and I watched the melee clips several time, and came up with the best 4, with some variety of characters, since I was not sure what we wanted the character to be like. For example, are they trained swordsmen, or just average fighters swinging a magic blade wildly? I sent the compilation of the best clips to the team, and we arrived to a consensus that we would use the one in take “Kevin3”. You can look through all the clips below.

Afterwards, I spent some time preparing it for the game. I did not have to make many adjustments to the poses, just a few issues with clipping and the position of the wrists. The timing of it is natural, but not really suited for a game. Using MotionBuilder’s time remapping, I changed the clip to make the strikes quicker and the in between poses slower. The quicker strikes will make it more responsive to the player, and the in-between poses will show anticipation, and give the player a visual queue of when to strike next. Overall, I am satisfied with the timing, hopefully it will look good in the game as well.

Additionally, I made a rough version of the transition from each pose back to idle. Although we shot it in studio, it still took some heavy modification to make it go from the exact pose to the same idle used in the game. I watched two great films this week, Jacques Rivette’s Up, Down, Fragile, and Scott Barley’s Sleep Has Her House.

Positive:

  • Melee animation came out nice.
  • Plenty of new data to work with.

Negative:

  • Twice as much data to clean.
  • A good amount of the data may not be used.
Leave a Reply

