Joshua Healy Spring Break PPJ

Borrowing Cameron’s father’s prized 1961 Ferrari 250 GT California Spyder against Cameron’s wishes, he, Sloane and I drive into Chicago to sightsee. Leaving the car with two parking attendants, who promptly take it on a joyride, we visit the Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower, Chicago Mercantile Exchange, and Wrigley Field. We then go to a French restaurant for lunch where I pose as the “Sausage King of Chicago” Abe Froman while narrowly avoiding my father, who is eating lunch at the restaurant. Meanwhile, after failing to find me, Rooney visits the Healy residence and fails to enter, being attacked by the family rottweiler as his car is towed. Jeannie, skipping class, returns home and discovers my ruse, but encounters Rooney snooping. She kicks him and calls the police, who arrest her for false reporting after Rooney leaves. While at the station, Jeannie meets a juvenile delinquent, who advises her not to worry so much about me.

After a cab ride where Cameron exclaims disinterest, I impromptu join a parade float during the Von Steuben Day parade and lip-sync Wayne Newton’s cover of “Danke Schoen”, as well as a rendition of The Beatles’ “Twist and Shout” that gets the entire crowd dancing. Just as things shine bright, we retrieve the car and notice that, due to the attendants’ joyride, over 100 miles have been added. The revelation shocks Cameron into a state of self-analysis, realizing his life is controlled by his father’s figure. We return the car to Cameron’s garage and unsuccessfully try to run it backwards to remove the miles. I suggest that we crack it open and turn it back manually. Cameron refuses and vents anger towards his father, kicking, severely denting, and leaning on the car, which falls off the jack and flies out the back, crashing into a ravine behind. I offer to take the blame, though Cameron insists on taking a stand against his father after destroying the car. At the police station, Mrs. Healy picks up Jeannie, whom she finds kissing the delinquent.

I return Sloan home, but realize I only have a limited time to return home to avoid trouble. I rush back to the house, but am spotted by Jeannie driving our mother home, who tries to run me down. I avoid being noticed by my parents, who are coming from another directions. We make it home at the same time, but Rooney catches me trying to enter the back door and rhetorically asks if I would like another year of high school under supervision. However, Jeannie discovers his wallet on the kitchen floor as proof he broke in, and she has a change of heart in the moment, letting Ferris in and telling Rooney he was hospitalized – indicating awareness of the break-in. The dog wakes up as she slams the door and attacks Rooney again. I leap into my bed at the last second, ensuring my parents do not suspect anything. As they leave, I remind the audience, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” I then smile at the camera before fading to black.

 

Or maybe I just watched Ferris Bueller’s Day off a bunch of times. I didn’t really work on senior project over the break.

Leave a Reply

