Healthy Moeung PPJ Personal Postmortem

Things that went well:

  1. I got to use Zbrush and learned a lot in it.
  2. I guess I had a nice group.
    [I’m not saying I liked everyone all the time but I felt like my group was enough to do what we wanted: Make a working game. And no one died along the way. While I did acknowledge that I was rude towards some, I seemed to only have done it when work was not being produced from certain individuals who eventually pulled it together. In the end, I don’t hate anyone, which is nice.]
  3. I’m proud that Ruben, Riley, and I got the dragon together. It’s one of my favorite things about our game.

Things that didn’t go well:

  1. I spent a long time animating a dragon. I thought I would be done after 2, possibly 3 weeks but it took twice that time since animations were added as we went along. Because of this, it was frustrating not only for my group, but for me as well. I knew what had to get done but it’s so hard when more of the same things keeps getting added. Now that I’m looking at the dragon, there’s so much I want to add to it but I have to settle.
  2. I felt like all, perhaps most, of the leads in my group were not very good at their job. Both art leads, which includes myself, team lead, project manager, programming lead, and even our later added creative director. I think I boils down to lack of communication and respect since our group is so big. When Riley was art lead, I felt like I relied on him a little more to acknowledge my voice and suggestions because I know I constantly say it and it’s not constantly noticed, but I do get ignored for some ideas that are later on suggested and accepted. This is entirely my fault, I can make a big fuss, but I felt like there was no point in doing that. After Riley stepped down, and I took the role, I did assign jobs at for the first few weeks but it just never got done so I stopped. People constantly went back and forth and what I thought was also to be asked from a team or art confirmation, it kinda just never got to the whole team. And in the end, I just lost people’s respect which I honestly didn’t care about at that point. I think I derailed a little. But our project manager’s tasks ended up getting dispersed among the most busy. and I don’t know what went on with the other leads. Maybe the leads should have met up for half an hour a week in addition to our weekly meetings. I don’t think we needed all those things, but with all of our people, I think it could have been beneficial to have one person manage updates, promotional material, slides, videos, and updates. Perhaps that way if not all of us knew what was going on, one person would.
  3. Why did our group meet to work on the game the night before a build was due? Couldn’t we have shifted it to Saturday or Sunday night? I would have been fine with Tuesday of Wednesday night. Hell, I work a part time job and yet I can usually free my schedule for whatever meeting.

Lessons to be learned:

  1. Finished, not perfect.
  2. Larger group means we need one designated person for communication. And a stricter work schedule and deadlines.
  3. If something is pissing you off, just talk to the person. The worst you’ll do is open a few fresh wounds that will heal if you’re both mature enough.
Leave a Reply

