Ruben Guzman PPJ Personal Postmortem

2 weeks left till graduation. Finally. Not that I’m tired of this project or the team, I’m just burnt from 6 years of higher education. Now, back to this project.

Things that went right:

Unreal Engine. Learning UE4 is pretty much the only thing I don’t have to struggle to think of to post on what went right. At first I thought it would be impossible to learn and complete this project AND make it great. Turns out, I was partially right. A bunch of us were able to learn Unreal which was (and is) a great thing. I tried my hand at almost everything UE4 had to offer. I’m glad I did. I’ve even started to use it for other classes.

Honestly, I think the dragon came out really well. With as late as a start we got on it and with the amount of collab Healthy and I did for animations, I think its turned out to be the most polished part of the game.

I think thats all I can think of.

Things that went wrong:

No one had a real vision of what the game should/could be. At some point late fall/early winter term I decided I would try to bring my vision and become the “creative director”. After a couple weeks of backlash and jokes, I gave that up. As a result, I think our game turned out to be a big blob of what people wanted to have in-game vs what would’ve been good for the game. We lacked a leader and I think that was everyone’s fault, including my own.

The countless arguments we had on things that don’t make sense. While they were fun at the moment, I don’t think anything was ever really solved by the arguments.  I think these arguments were largely caused by the lack of vision and leadership.

Deadlines. I honestly can’t remember a time where something was supposed to be finished by a certain date and actually was. And was to a quality where other people could work with it. I mostly feel bad for the artists because I know they suffered through this a lot.

Things I learned:

Back to UE4. This was my biggest takeaway from senior project. I’ve learned a lot about Unreal and I’m excited to keep working with it on my future projects. Not sure if I’ll ever go back to Unity unless a job requires it.

Have a leader.

Not everyone will have the same ideas or work ethic. Plan ahead for delays.

Leave a Reply

